More European countries to phase out amalgam

Three more European countries – Ireland, Finland, and Slovakia – have announced plans to phase out amalgam use!

The intense European campaign run by the World Alliance for Mercury-Free Dentistry team resulted in a new European Union regulation that banned the use of amalgam in children under 15 years old, pregnant women, and breastfeeding mothers, starting 1 July 2018. That same regulation requires EU countries to submit national plans to phase down their overall use of amalgam. 

So we took action:

  • We sent EU countries guidance to assist in constructing an effective national plan.
  • Our European team members had meetings with key government officials.
  • We worked with other nonprofit groups in the same way we create coalitions on every continent, including North America.

Good news: Ireland, Finland, and Slovakia released national plans that will end all amalgam use on a timetable. These countries will be joining Sweden (a fellow EU member state) and Norway (a non-EU country) in leading the way to mercury-free dentistry for Europe.

We congratulate these countries on taking this important step to protect our planet and patients from this outdated mercury product!